USMNT announces roster for upcoming Southern California friendlies

USMNT announces roster for upcoming Southern California friendlies

The first U.S. men’s national team roster of the new World Cup cycle features some familiar faces and a lot of new ones.

Goalkeeper Sean Johnson, LAFC’s Aaron Long and Kellyn Acosta, Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC) and Jesus Ferreira (FC Dallas) were all part of the 2022 World Cup team and were called in for this camp.

The U.S. will face Serbia Jan. 25 at Banc of California Stadium and three days later Colombia at Dignity Health Sports Park.

Interim coach Anthony Hudson will lead the team for the camp and games.

“As we were putting this roster together, the focus has been around identifying positions within our team that would benefit from more depth,” Hudson told “And then given the time of year, being a January camp, it gives us an opportunity to look at some real high-potential young players and also some players that have been on our radar for some time. This gives us an opportunity to look at them over the course of these two games.”

There are 13 players on the roster, including Galaxy defender Jalen Neal, who have yet to make their debut at the senior national team level.

Goalkeepers Roman Celentano (FC Cincinnati), Gaga Slonina (Chelsea), defenders Julian Gressel (Vancouver), DeJuan Jones (New England), Sam Rogers (Rosenborg), John Tolkin (New York Red Bulls), midfielders Paxten Aaronson (Eintracht Frankfurt), Aidan Morris (Columbus), Alan Sonora (unattached) and forwards Emmanuel Sabbi (Odense), Brandon Vazquez (FC Cincinnati) and Alejandro Zendejas (Club America) are the others.

Neal, Aaronson and Cade Cowell (San Jose) were members of the U.S. U-20 team that won the CONCACAF U-20 championship and qualified the U.S. for the U-20 World Cup and the upcoming Olympics.

The match dates fall outside of the international calendar and clubs are not required to release players for national team duty.

Goalkeepers: Roman Celentano (FC Cincinnati), Sean Johnson (Unattached), Gaga Slonina (Chelsea)

Defenders: Jonathan Gómez (Real Sociedad), Julian Gressel (Vancouver Whitecaps), DeJuan Jones (New England Revolution), Aaron Long (LAFC), Jalen Neal (Galaxy), Sam Rogers (Rosenborg), John Tolkin (New York Red Bulls), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC)

Midfielders: Paxten Aaronson (Eintracht Frankfurt), Kellyn Acosta (LAFC), Aidan Morris (Columbus Crew), Paxton Pomykal (FC Dallas), Alan Soñora (Unattached), Eryk Williamson (Portland Timbers)

Forwards: Paul Arriola (FC Dallas), Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes, Jesús Ferreira (FC Dallas), Matthew Hoppe (Middlesbrough), Emmanuel Sabbi (Odense), Brandon Vazquez (FC Cincinnati), Alejandro Zendejas (Club America)